A glimpse into our crazy life

For Your Consideration, Part II August 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — emilyandfrank @ 10:01 pm

I have two additional books to recommend, but I must warn you- this books are not pleasant, easy-going beach reads. They deal with very difficult and unpleasant topics. But they also made me think more than any book has in a long, long time. I found myself thinking about the issues they deal with while fixing dinner, during my commute, etc. While I generally use leisure reading as an escape from the stress of life, I also think you should utilize your reading to expand your horizons, learn about the world, and challenge your beliefs. So, don’t let the subject matter of these books scare you away. The excellent writing and interesting stories are worth it, in my humble opinion.

Room, by Emma Donoghue. This novel is told from the point of view of a 5-year-old boy who, along with his young mother, is being held captive in a small room by the man who abducted her. How would you raise your child if your entire life existed within an 11×11 foot room? I get frustrated when we’re stuck inside one day due to poor weather. But I still have an entire house to exist in! Telling the story from the boy’s point of view is also an interesting vehicle for this book.

Columbine, by Dave Cullen. Much like the rest of the country, I followed the news surrounding the horrific shootings at Columbine closely, especially since I was in high school at the time. Cullen, a journalist, is considered one of the most knowledgeable on the attacks and tells the full story of what actually happened- both the events that led up to the event and the aftermath. You will be shocked at how different the real story is from how the media portrayed it. And I appreciated the analysis by some leading psychopathology experts on behaviors to look out for to prevent this from happening again, especially as an employee on a college campus.

 

One Response to “For Your Consideration, Part II”

  1. Heather Woelk Says:

    I read 3 of the your last recommendations and just put these two on hold. Thanks for some new reading ideas!


Leave a Reply

